About Us

The department of internal medicine is the largest in the College of Medicine and at the University of Kentucky with approximately 300 faculty, 88 residents, 40 fellows, 100 advanced practice providers, and over 320 staff members. The department is being led by professor and acting chair Rick R. McClure, MD, as well as Peter E. Morris, MD, professor and vice chair for research. It is supported by an administrative leadership team of seven.

The 15 divisions within the department include:

  • Allergy and immunology
  • Biomedical informatics
  • Cancer biostatistics
  • Cardiovascular medicine
  • Digestive health and nutrition
  • Endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism
  • General internal medicine
  • Hematology and blood and marrow transplant
  • Hospital medicine
  • Infectious diseases
  • Medical oncology
  • Nephrology, bone, and mineral metabolism 
  • Pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine 
  • Rheumatology 
  • Women’s health