General Internal Medicine

Our administrative offices are located on the third floor of the Charles T. Wethington Building at the University of Kentucky.  

Faculty Spotlight

In this Faculty Spotlight, we are featuring Dr. Christopher Yost.  Dr. Yost is our department’s Ambulatory Director of Quality and Safety, as well as, the Co-Chair of our MACRA Steering Committee. Along with Dr. Caudill, Dr. Yost manages our Complex Clinic, and is currently working on a research project that will provide home blood pressure and weight monitoring for General Internal Medicine patients. He recently finished UK’s Executive Leadership and Management Program and is pursuing a Masters in Health Administration in the College of Public Health. Dr. Yost has won a number of outstanding patient care awards including last year’s Inaugural Saha Award for Patient Centered Care. When asked about his goals here at UK, he said, “My goal is to be a driver for change in how we practice healthcare in the United States. I want to help people live better, happier, healthier, fuller lives, both in and out of our healthcare system.”

Update: Due to Dr. Yost's leadership, quality improvement initiatives targeting MACRA benchmarks led to UK Healthcare receiving the maximum final score of 100 points, which qualifies our physicians as exceptional performers. As a result, all UK Healthcare providers will receive the maximum increase in payment adjustment applied to Medicare Plan B claims beginning January 1, 2019.

UK HealthCare Physicians Are Named to 2017-18 Best Doctors in America 

We would like offer congratulations to Dr. David Rudy, Dr. Dale Toney, Dr. Jacequline Gibson, Dr. Shawn T. Caudill, Dr. Andrew Hoellein, and Dr. Connie Jennings for being named among the best doctors in United States in 2018.  This prestigious award is decided by an impartial review and is only earned by four percent of the nations MDs.  We are so proud of our faculty.